Falkirk 52 Dumfries Saints 18

Falkirk were stinging after a defeat by Cartha the previous week had denied them promotion and the young Saints were going to suffer the backlash. The resulting game was fast paced, full blooded, full of big hits and end to end play. A missed tackle midfield put the Saints defence under pressure and they gave away a penalty in front of the posts for Logan Bonar to kick, Saints 3 nil down after 3 minutes played. The game settled down to some good attacking play from Falkirk and some dogged defence from the Saints. A penalty each for Bonar and John Carlisle took the score to 6 : 3 with 5 minutes left in the 1st half. Then 2 tries from McGuire, one from MnCube and conversion from Bonar took the game into half time with Falkirk winning 23 : 3.Saints secure ball

The second half started with another penalty kicked by John Carlisle and some great phases by Saints taking the ball up the field with relentless pick and go. But they kept losing possession as they got close to the Falkirk line and some great counter attacking took them all the way back to their 22 time and again. A catch and drive from a lineout gave Falkirk’s Hansen an unconverted try followed by another from Cole Ronald.

Some quick thinking by Andrew Whiteford taking a tap penalty caught out the Falkirk defence and Saints pulled one back, converted by John Carlisle. Falkirk replied with a try from Gregor Brodie then one from Logan Bonnar and finally a push over from a 5 metre scrum touched down by back row Stuart Williamson.

Saints never gave up and Ben Radley finished off a period of sustained pressure with a try in the corner.5 metre scrum

Coach Mickey Hunt said “Falkirk are the best all round team in the league and Saints competed well for large periods of the game.” President Donald Brown said “The scoreline did not reflect the possession, the territory or the commitment of the Saints squad.”

Squad; Keith Geddes, James Jackson, Craig Goldie, Bruce Hunt, Stewart Kennedy, Kevin Lowrie, Chris Wickes, Daniel Henderson, David Kennedy, Ben Radley, Jack Johnston, Mike Rennie, Craig Bryson, Andrew Whiteford, John Carlisle, subs; Eck Sloan, Blair Milligan, Martin Greene and Michael Yates